After having my old St. Brigitta’s cap for several years, and not really liking it that much. Well I like the cap itself as it is the best thing to pin your veils to, but it was a bit on the rough side with a bit to thick linen and also the band over the seam seemed like a good idea at the time but I don’t want it to show when wearing my frilled veils. Also the original cap have a lace embroidery over the head and in front on the band.

Making a new one is not that much work either, and the embroidery part was much easier than I thought.
I started by cutting the cap part out, in stead of sewing the back seam together I hemmed the two parts individually. Then I basted the cap to a thin cardboard that I had marked out some guide lines on to make it easier to embroider, the gap is 1cm wide and the markings are 0,5cm apart.
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 1
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 2

I used this excellent guide for the embroidery for the interlaced herringbone stitch.
I recommend looking at the guide in stead of my pictures, it is very clear. My pictures was mostly to show the progress on facebook.
I used a silk buttonhole tread for my embroidery, it became very delicate and nice, the original cap was probably embroidered with linen thread.

Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 3
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 4
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 5
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 6
At the end where the slit in the cap will be I made a bar by making buttonhole stitches over a couple of treads.

Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 7
In the front I made a embroidery inspired by this picture on Medieval Silkwork.

And this is how it looks when finished.
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 8
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 9
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 10
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 11
Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 12

Embroidered St. Birgittas cap - 13
And also how it looks when worn with a frilled veil, and also here with some flax cornettes I made a while ago. I love how the lace embroidery is seen under the veil.

If you want to make your own St. Birgitta’s cap here is a tutorial with a pattern.

