swim dress

So, I am not the one for showing off my body at the meat market also known as the beach. But I am the one for swimming and I have since I was a kid lived in the water during the summer season. These things does not mix well when the only thing one can find in the stores will show off everything that you do not wish to show of.

We had a guest teacher in school that taught us how to sew bras, so I took the opportunity to use this bra sewing day to make something for the beach. As I am a dress girl I decided to make a “swim dress” a bathing suit with a dress over it, all in lycra. As I have a rack of doom I needed a bra in the top and since I had no idea on how to sew bras this was the golden opportunity to combine it all.

This is how it turned out, I am really happy about it. It shows off all of the good stuff and hides all of the bad, a win win situation.
swim dress
swim dress - details
swim dress 2

21 thoughts on “swim dress

  1. Det där är antagligen den mest awsome baddräkten någonsin! Jag blev störtförälskad så kände mig tvungen att kommentera!

    En fullpoängare, helt klart! :)

  2. This is so completely cool. I have the same problem – I hate wearing revealing clothes but I love swimming. This is a very flattering solution, I take it you can swim in this?

  3. This is such a great idea! =D Very inspirational!

    I’m not very keen on showing everything either. I rather like bikinis, but I allways feel the stores’ bikini pants have too short legs (problems with the bikini line) so I thought maybe I can sew on a little ruffled skirt on the bikini panties (hate those wrap around skirts), so now I just have to go buy swim suit fabric!

  4. Du är banne mig helt fantastiskt bra! ÄLskar din blogg! Har haft den på min bloggfavorit-lista länge! Och tack för tipset idag om hatten.

  5. I’m not very keen on showing everything either. I rather like bikinis, but I allways feel the stores’ bikini pants have too short legs (problems with the bikini line) so I thought maybe I can sew on a little ruffled skirt on the bikini panties (hate those wrap around skirts), so now I just have to go buy swim suit fabric!

  6. I love the swimsuit!!! I’m a very, VERY fair skinned Australian and like the others, I don’t particularly like being on display. Love the coverage :)

  7. Please post a tutorial for your swimdress! I have been looking for one I like everywhere and I LOVE yours!!! Please Please Please. I leave for vacation in three weeks!

    Crystal

  8. Thank you for stating that not all of us want to be naked at the beach. What a nice swim dress. Very nice on you.

  9. Hello, I love your swimdress and all the style and shape that it has. It’s very feminine and flattering and yet looks comfortable enough to wear to the beach or pool without having to bother with lots of other tie on skirts or other items that are sometimes worn to distract from the parts we wish to conceal.

    I was burned as a little girl and my back, thighs and ribs were pretty badly scarred up. I am fairly shy about going swimming in public and as I’ve gotten older and a little plumper I feel even more subconscious.

    I would be happy to pay you to make me a similar item if you are interested. I’ve not purchased a new swimsuit in years and am in dire need of one for the upcoming season. If you don’t sew but have a pattern you could direct me to that would be great too. I really love what you’ve done there.

    Feel free to e-mail me at insanad@gmail.com
    Most sincerely,
    Dana Dahl

  10. PLEASE publish a pattern or sell some on Etsy or something – this is perfect! But I’m horrible at sewing on stretchy fabrics. Oh I want one like this so bad!!!

  11. I totally agree – you could make a fortune selling these on Etsy – I know I would LOVE to buy one!!! I also endure the rack of doom, and it makes it nearly impossible to find a decent swim dress. You and are are about the same size/shape – I love this suit!! Fantastic job!!!

  12. Oh please, please please please make a pattern!!! Even if its just for your size at least it would be a model for other sizes and I am going NUTS trying to find ANY patterns for actual modest swim dresses that don’t include a headscarf if you catch my drift. I don’t need to be flashing my rack of doom and hiding my bony ass hips would be epic but most places that sell patterns like this cost over 20 bucks just for the pattern. -_- So if you made a pattern, or even like, showed us with a few pictures how you put yours together, that would be so awesome…

  13. I usually do not drop a bunch of responses, but I
    looked at a few of the remarks on swim dress learningtofly – Katafalk.

    I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or do some of these remarks appear like they are coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at other places, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Could you list of all of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

