Doubting oneself.

I know it is silly, but I do it all the time, I know it is silly but I do.

I doubt my skills, I doubt my vision and I doubt that I will ever make it as a seamstress or even if that is really what I want.
I know it is silly since I everyday confirm to myself that I have the skills, the will and the need for perfection that I feel every seamstress should have. The doubts probably lie in that fact that I have no idea what to do in a year, that there is no school that I can afford that have a proper tailoring education and what will I do then? Work at a supermarket?

I think that it is what I need, what I want. Perhaps two or three years of proper training in the tailoring area, to be sure of myself, since then I know that I have the training needed.
For one and a half year ago I had no real training in sewing, I just made! And when I started studying sewing for real it seemed that the way I have always done things were the proper way. One year of basic sewing and weaving training and I feel that I have only open the first chapter, but in one way it seems like this book might not have as many chapters as I have imagined.

The real world frightens me, it really does.

7 thoughts on “Doubting oneself.

  1. hiya
    just wanted to say i’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now, and i’m insanely impressed by the quality of your work.
    Its normal to have doubts, but don’t let them win. your talent is undeniable and I’m learning lots from you!
    Keep your eyes open for mentors, people you admire that you want to be like. don’t be discouraged!

  2. i agree with genny. i too have been following your blog for a while now, and i’ve learnt a lot of things. believe me when i say you’re seriously talented. i look at some of your work and i just blurt out, ‘wow!. you’re damn good!! i’m not flattering you when i say you have a lot to offer the world.

  3. ru serious?
    ur doubting urself?
    & i would say ur mroe than a seamstress, ur a tailor. tailoring is an art.
    im in fashion design and u’ve inspired me and kept me going as a seamstress, and ur so talented!
    i want to have ur skills as a seamstress.
    dont give up, a lot of people look up to u.
    best wishes!

  4. I just wanted to tell you, that doubting ones self is totally normal. However, I’ve ran a costume shop, I sew for a living, and can build or tailor anything. And I still feel like I’ll never be as good as you! Your designs, skills, and talent is absolutely outstanding! I have shared your blog with so many professionals in the design, costume, tailoring, seamstress, etc, field. They are all in awe of your work. I can’t wait to say, I read her blog when she was still in school! Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

  5. I’ve been sewing for three or four years and selling small pieces for about 2. I only just found your site and it’s now one of my all time favourites.

    I’d really love to see how you made those horns (I don’t use leather, but other fabrics could be stiffened).

Leave a Reply

