Wulsthaube

wulsthaube
Every one needs silly things to wear on your head, so to my kampfrau outfit I wanted a wulsthaube. It was super simple to do, I used these instructions but the triangular part I cut on the bias and sewed on a band that was on straight grain. That way it would drape over my bump nicely whilst still having it fit snugly around my head. If I would not have then band the area around my face would stretch over time and it would be to big. I also wanted it to be a complete thing, and not in parts. I want to be able to put it on without lots of needles or an under cap.

My roll was also cut on the bias, to make the curving nicer, and then it is stuffed with wool.

wulsthaube - back
BALDUNG GRIEN Hans 1505
I draped it in pleats it in the back like in this painting by Hans Baldung Grien from 1505 It will also have the square detail in the back as in the pictures, to cover up the edges of the pleated fabric.
Now it just needs some hand sewing to keep the folds and everything else in place, Ill put up some pictures of the finished thing soon.

4 thoughts on “Wulsthaube

  1. Har du någon idé på hur du ska göra den? Ska du ha någon stomme?
    Jag tänkte att det räcker bra med några lager ulltyg. Den får ju inte vara för stel för jag vill ha den något sånär följsam med huvudet.

  2. i forumet på landsknecht.org finns det en tråd under “clothing som heter “”how-did-you-make-your-hat” andra inlägget har ett wordokument bifogat som heter “platter hat” typ så har jag tänkt mig att göra. Fast jag har tänkt ta typ linne som jag stärkt upp med något, typ shellack eller så för att få en schyst grund, och så har jag tänkt att ha någon form av ståltråd i kanten, så att man kan forma den lite men som ändå håller upp kanten lite, jag vill inte att den bara hänger. :)

  3. Shit vad tunna och fina dom var. Tack för tipset. Dom jag gör blir rätt feta, men det gör inte så mycket. Får se hur det går att ha full sättning med 36 stycken höhö ^^
    Jag vill lära mig kantvävning! Jag har inte hittat ett dyft om hur man gör på internet men kan tänka mig att det inte är så svårt.
    Är det bara att sy fast inslaget i tyget och snurra på som vanligt eller?

Leave a Reply

