I thought that I would show you how I prefer to wear my steuchlein.

wearing my steuchlein - 1
I start with putting my wulsthaube on.

wearing my steuchlein - 2
Then I throw on the steuchlein

wearing my steuchlein - 3
Oops a bit of.

wearing my steuchlein - 4
It is nice to have that star so that I know it is on straight.

wearing my steuchlein - 5
Then I tie it in the back.

wearing my steuchlein - 6
Like this.

wearing my steuchlein - 7
I throw the tail to the front to make it easy to tie it.

wearing my steuchlein - 8
Finished

wearing my steuchlein - 9
If one wanted you could always use needles here in stead, to minimize bulk.

wearing my steuchlein - 10
Then I adjust the steuchlein over the wulsthaube

wearing my steuchlein - 11
Tighten it in the back

wearing my steuchlein - 12
Hold it in place with my left hand

wearing my steuchlein - 14
The other hand twist the tail part into a tight twist.

wearing my steuchlein - 14
When you have twisted for a while, you can let go of the left hand and use it to twist, it goes faster with two hands.

wearing my steuchlein - 15
Then I put the twisted tail over my head, holding the back in place

wearing my steuchlein - 16
Like this

wearing my steuchlein - 17
The twist goes around the head.
And is tucked under itself.

wearing my steuchlein - 18
Tada! like this. At this point I usually throw my hat with ostrich feathers on.
And this is how I wear my steuchlein and here is also a sneak peak of my new 16th century German blouse