Medieval week 2013
Take Scandinavias best preserved medieval city and add lots and lots of people in costumes. Vikings, medieval, landsknects any costume you can think of. There are pirates and fairies, jesters, princesses and monks. A huge eight day festival filled with market, tournaments, workshops, re-enactment. People singing in the streets, fire and laughter.

Everyone is happy, everyone is there to meet friends and have fun. For many including me Visby is magical.
Visby is a small city on the island Gotland outside the Swedish mainland.

So What do you do?

Medieval week 2013
There is a lot of sitting, often including some kind of pick nick.

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
You and your friends do silly things as march with 118 other landsknechte and trossfraus through Visby.

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
The march called “100 landsknechte march” is AMAZING to take part of.

Medieval week 2013
I also played the part of “fleeing civilian” at the Battle of Mästerby

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
It was just as amazing to see to see the battle so close up. After running for my life I sat only about one meter from where the Danish forces crushed Gotlands fighters. Very awesome!

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
There is a lot off sitting down with food and friends. In the background you can see the wall that surrounds big parts of Visby.

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Then there was the big battle! I was “fleeing civilian” this time to. At the battle of Mästerby I felt the battle more closely. The big battle was of course a lot bigger and I only saw the actual fighting from far away. But it looked amazing! The Battle of Wisby group have high standards for the participants and that makes it all into a time travel, a plausible slice of a medieval battle.

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Battle of Wisby also had a camp. The camp is re-enacting a camp from the 14th century and there were groups from all over Europe attending. I had the chance to take part of some of the camp life, even if I lived in a apartment on the big square. I loved the camp, I don’t belong to any re-enactment group (yet) but everyone in the camp was so friendly and nice to me and I made a bunch of new friends.
There were a lot of workshops held in the camp and I took part of a plant dyeing workshop. Filling my heads with plans for the winter. I might not be able to dye fabric for an entire dress (finding a pot that takes 4 meter of wool fabric might be hard) but I will surely try to dye for smaller things.
I also learned how to do brick stitch embroidery, since I had been craving the silk bags that everyone is making at the moment.

Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
Medieval week 2013
And I also learned how to make stone mould for pewter, it was not hard to work work in the stone but really hard to make anything good. I tried to make a badge with a bunny, a acorn shaped mount for a belt and a acorn button that looks mostly like a breast.

Medieval week 2013
A happy me in the camp.

Medieval week 2013
My loot of the week is this nice jug from the Danish medieval centre that is a copy of a Danish find from 14-15th century.

Medieval week 2013
I also finally bought a willow carrying basket, I only need to change the straps, they are made of a chrome tanned leather so not that period but it was a good price for the basket.

I had the best medieval week so far, new friends and a lot of nice people that came up to me and said that they read and like my blog. I like that you like my blog and it is always nice to see people in real life.
There are a few more pictures from my week, and they can be found HERE!