Wearing my veil

Wearing my veil - 1
I thought thought that I would share with you how I put on my veil and wimple, my modern me have short hair, bangs and piercings, very non medieval of me.

Wearing my veil - 2
I start of by braiding the front part of my hair, I try to pull the braids forward a bit, that makes them look better later on.

Wearing my veil - 3
One braid on each side, at my temples.

Wearing my veil - 4
The last hair I pull back, as you can see there is not really that much hair, I wish I had long hair, but I am far to lazy to wait for it to grow out so I crop my hair every autumn, so in summer it is slightly longer than in these pictures.

Wearing my veil - 5
Then it is time for the St. Birgitta’s cap, this is the best thing ever as you use it to pin everything on.

Wearing my veil - 6
Stuff the bangs inside.

Wearing my veil - 7
The St. Birgitta’s cap have long ties that you cross in the back.

Wearing my veil - 8
And then cross in the front and put over the back of your head.

Wearing my veil - 9
When I wear my St. Birgitta’s cap in the way that it sits best on my head, I feel that it sits to far back on the head to look good with my frilled veils. So I have finished of a piece of linen fabric with the dimensions 44*8 cm.

Wearing my veil - 10
I make a small pleat in each end.

Wearing my veil - 11
Then I pin it to my cap.

Wearing my veil - 12
Here you see that I have pulled the braids to the front, this makes sure that they are visible when the wimple comes on.

Wearing my veil - 13
Then I take my wimple, it is 115*50 cm and is hemmed with a thin double folded hem.

Wearing my veil - 14
I put the wimple under my chin.

Wearing my veil - 15
I pin it onto my St. Birgitta’s cap, not on top of my head but a bit to the back of my head and I pull it tightly around my chin. I usually have to make it tighter during the day as the linen stretches a bit with the moist and heat from my body.

Wearing my veil - 16
I fix the back so that it hangs nicely, I sometimes put a pin there especially when it is a windy day.

Wearing my veil - 17
I put some pins in the neckline to, to keep it in place.

Wearing my veil - 18
I put them in like this.

Wearing my veil - 19
It makes the pins almost invisible, the only thing visible is a small dot and you can see in the circle.

Wearing my veil - 20
Then I put the braids inside the wimple and put a pin through the braid to keep it in place.

Wearing my veil - 21
Like this.

Wearing my veil - 22
Then I pull out the pretty pins. I always loose my pins that are in my wimple and neckline so there I use ordinary pins and they are never visible. But for the visible pins I use these nice ones from Medeltidsmode.

Wearing my veil - 23
Then I take my veil, It is a full circle veil that is 91 cm in diameter, I folded in 25 cm and then I have attached my simple frilled veil to it.

Wearing my veil - 24
I put the veil on my head.

Wearing my veil - 25
Adjust it to sit nicely.

Wearing my veil - 26
Then I put a pin on top of my head, making sure to catch all the layers including the St. Birgitta’s cap.

Wearing my veil - 27
Then I pin the veil to the wimple.

Wearing my veil - 28
Like this.

Wearing my veil - 29
The pin on top of my head.

Wearing my veil - 30
And that is it, I remove my lip piercing and the transformation is finished, now there is no bangs, no piercings visible and the short hair looks like trendy braids.

23 thoughts on “Wearing my veil

  1. That is super-useful! I’m surprised how little the plaits are when they are fully visible.

    Is your ruffle pinned/tacked to the folded edge of the circular veil, or do you have a specific half-circle veil that it is permanently sewn to?

  2. Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, but I don’t think I’ve commented. You do some incredibly useful posts!

    I was wondering if you could tell me where you buy your historical fabrics from? I’m trying to buy what I think is pretty standard wool and linen, but I’m really struggling to find a supplier in the UK or Europe. :(

  3. @Panth
    Thank you, yes! I was also surprised that my tiny amount of hair could pass as good sized medieval pleats :P
    The ruffle is sewn on to the folded edge of the circular veil with pretty big stitches so that I can take it away and use the veil separately if I ever get tired of the ruffle look. I like to make things that can be easily changed into another style.

    @Ellie
    I buy most of my fabric from the Swedish web shop http://www.medeltidsmode.se
    I have heard very many good things about the German web shop http://naturtuche.de but I have never bought from there myself.
    Also the Swedish company http://handelsgillet.se have fantastic fabrics.

    I hope that this helps you out some.

  4. I know I’m meant to focus on the veil and wimple arrangement, and it is indeed a clever one, but I’m even more excited about this dress. I’ve never seen such cool design elements. It looks like it’s the hot older sister of a cotehardie, maybe? (I don’t know, I’ve had a Middle Eastern persona and never really dabbled in anything European!) But much more well fitted, and I’m not sure how that happened. I don’t sew at all, so that’s probably why I’m not sure how it happened, but are those extra seams down the sides, or just decoratively sewn-on stripes/piping? Do you have a pattern for this that you would share? Or full-body shots that show the full dress?

  5. D’vorah bint Da’ud: It is actually the so called “Greenland gown or Herjolfsnes gown” based on medieval finds from Greenland. The dereference between it and other types of cotehardie is that it has several side panels making it easy to get a good fit over the bust and also gives a stunning width in the skirt. I have written about the dress before in this blog post: https://katafalk.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/my-green-dress and there are also good pictures of the fit in my post about comparing the Lengberg brassiere dress and my modern bra. https://katafalk.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/lengberg-castle-brassiere-comparison

    I do not have a pattern for it as it was draped on my body, but there are pattern diagrams on the net if you search for “Herjolfsnes gown pattern”

  6. I thank you very much, Miss Kata. :) I’ll be learning from you for a good long time, I think. I now have incentive to learn to sew.

  7. Thanks Catherin, that really helps. They have some fantastic stuff!

    Alyss, unfortunately I can’t get to any fairs. :( It’s probably best that I don’t, I’d end up spending far too much.

  8. I LOVE it. I dress 12th century so my arrangement is somewhat different — no braids peeping out at the cheek and no frilled veil — but I still got some good ideas. And I am now tempted to do a 14th century so I can wear that pretty cap, wimple and veil. You look great!

  9. Have you thought of using a a linen kerchief in place of the finished strip of linen, beneath the cap (it would be tied behind at the base of the neck) and then pinning the cap to it?

  10. This was a REALLY good little “tutorial” with lots of pictures and very well written text that describes everything really good. Thank you so much! :)

  11. I have folded my veils in half, pinned them to my filet. Then I take the top layer of veil and fold and drape and pin it into an interesting shape. Each shape of veil can give a different look.

Leave a Reply

