I love to guest play in historical periods where I don’t really belong. I love the challenge of blending in without knowing so much about the period.

Yellow regency gown - 7

Last autumn I was invited to a “Waterloo victory feast”, as regency is not at all my period I of course needed to make a whole new kit. I stole my 18th century shift to be a bit lazy, and machine sewed a pair of regency stays and also took my 18th century underskirt; but the dress is all new and all hand sewn.

Yellow regency gown - 2

As it was autumn I wanted to make a dress in wool, most extant dresses are in silk or cotton but there is a original Danish dress in wool. I also happened to have some yellow thin twill at home that was actually going to become a 14th century dress that felt like a good choice.

Yellow regency gown - 1

I draped the pattern on my self based on extant dresses and decided that the “drop front” dress was interesting and a good thing to start out with.

Yellow regency gown - 3
Yellow regency gown - 4

The bodice is lined in a thin linen fabric but not the sleeves. I tried to aim at a shape of a 1810-1815 dress.

Yellow regency gown - 6

I have always loved the regency style but have been put of by it being a bit off for my shape, my body shape is “better” for the 16th-18th century, but I might have to admit that I have been bitten by the regency bug. Fabric for a new dress is ordered and also a spencer is planned. A red wool spencer have been on my wish list for at least 10 years now, it is kind of stupid that I have not made one yet.

Yellow regency gown - 5