open hood with card / tablet woven edge

Last year I wanted to make a open hood with the silly hook on to top, but when I did a toille it looked really off and I decided to make a buttoned hood with liripipe in stead. But at last summers medieval week I saw Saras red open hood I was really inspired and decided to make one for this summer.
There is so many different variety of open hood in the pictures, I have based mine of several picture and these are some of them.
Here are some on my Medieval pinterest board

One with very wide “wings”
A few with that silly hook
One more with a hook
And some with longer “tails”

I also love Isis black open hood

Using my liripipe pattern as a guide I made a toille for a open hood and it did not take long before a pattern was made.
This kind of hood does not require a lot of fabric so it is a great way to use scraps. It was also a really fast project, started on a Thursday and completely finished on the Sunday after, with not that many active sewing hours.

Open hood - 1
I wanted to make it in wool and lined in wool so I took some scraps from my liripipe for the gray lining and some left overs from my new yellow dress I am making for the shell fabric.
I wanted to tablet weave the edge of this hood and these fabric is slightly fulled so there is minimal fraying of the fabric and that is nice.

Open hood - 2
When cutting the pieces out I put them all together.

Open hood - 3
So that the linings right sides are out and the shell fabrics right sides are facing each other.

Open hood - 4
Using a chalk crayon I mark where I want to sew.

Open hood - 5
I use a back stitch when sewing all the layers together, all at the same time. I sew with small stitches using a waxed linen tread. When hand sewing I try to make as small stitches as I use when sewing on the machine.

Open hood - 6
Then I cut some of the seam allowance away on my lining. This is so that it will not poke out when we are going to cast down the edges and it also makes the seam allowances smoother since it thins it out a bit.

Open hood - 7
Then I press this seam apart, I was travelling by train when I was sewing this so they are just basted down in my pictures, it works just as fine as long as you press your seams later.
I now sew the seam allowances down, I use filler threads when sewing down the seam allowances. They protects the open edge of the fabric and keeps it from fraying and it also looks really pretty and neat. This is a technique found of the garments from Greenland and is described in my favourite book about medieval textiles “Woven into the Earth” by Else Østergård.
I take care and make sure that the stitches only goes through the lining and not the shell fabric.

Open hood - 8
Open hood - 9
I do not split my seam allowances all the way. In the hook part I cut the seam allowance down a bit and also cut some notches so the curve does not pull and then I press it apart.
But sewing it down is not necessary, it only adds bulk and it will never be seen anyway.

Open hood - 10
Then I turn my hood right side facing out. I smooth out the fabric and baste the edges together. Here you can see that my edges have shifted a bit when sewing the top seam.

Open hood - 11
I trim that off.

Open hood - 12
Now you can edge your hood any way you want to, but I wanted to show you how to card weave/ tablet weave the edges.
There is no need for fancy materials to do card weaving, I bought my beautiful wooden cards from http://ampstrike.etsy.com but you can use a sturdy cardboard to make your cards. The size and thickness is all personal preferences, I like to use thin smaller cards.

Open hood - 13
I am going to use two cards for my weave, each card have four holes in it so I will need eight warp threads. Using my mothers kitchen chairs I warp the threads to get the same length and to get them sorted out. This is more important if you have a complicated weave, but I do it this way anyway.
The length of your threads are the length you want to edge and then I always add half a meter more, to be on the really safe side, and then a bit more to not come out short in the end.
I just tie the thread to the leg of a chair that is turned upside down.

Open hood - 14
Open hood - 15
I put the other chairs the distance apart that I need to warp.

Open hood - 16
I go around the leg of that chair.

Open hood - 17
When I come back to the first chair I make sure to go on the other side of the leg.

Open hood - 18
And the around the first leg again So that you create a crossing of the threads.

Open hood - 19
Then I do that until I have the right number of threads.

Open hood - 20
The crossing of the threads is important, it makes sure that you can see in what order you warped the threads.

Open hood - 21
How it look on the other chair.

Open hood - 22
We like long kitchens when warping.

Open hood - 23
I want to save the crossing of the treads for later, so I make this cardboard divider.

Open hood - 24
Like this.

Open hood - 25
If you are a bit short on space, this is a good way of warping.

Open hood - 26
The important this is to get the crossing of the threads.

Open hood - 27
Open hood - 28
Or like this.

Open hood - 29
I tie a knot around the warp threads to keep the end together.

Open hood - 30
Open hood - 31
And then I take it of the chair leg.

Open hood - 32
I tie a slip knot in the end.

Open hood - 33
Open hood - 34
And then hand crochet the warp threads loosely to keep them neatly together.

Open hood - 35
Leave a part to weave with loose and just tie a simple bow around the last loop to keep it from unravelling and then you can take it of the other chair to.

Open hood - 36
Now cut the end of the loose end above the crossing of threads part.

Open hood - 37
Now it is time to tread the cards, they are threaded in this order and is threaded from the back to the front.

Open hood - 38
Now you can see the use of saving the crossing of the threads. You can easily see which is the next thread to thread.

Open hood - 39
Now I have threaded both my cards.

Open hood - 40
Open hood - 41
I now want to put them together, I put them back to back or face to face. I was going to have one more card I would put it back to back with the last card. This is to get a well balanced weave.

Open hood - 42
I use two safety pins to keep my cards from turning around and getting tangled. I put these in whenever I am going to do something with my project that might make me loose the order of my cards, just to be sure.

Open hood - 43
At the far end before your crochet braid I make a slip knot, I will put this on my foot.

Open hood - 44
I put it on my foot and make sure that the warp treads are equally long. Then I tie a ordinary knot in the front after the cards. I attach this to a belt in some way, this is just temporary so I just tie it of with a piece of yarn.

Open hood - 45
Ready to weave.

Open hood - 46
Open hood - 47
For the beginning you are just going to weave a ordinary ribbon. Take out the safety pins, put in a thread, and turn both cards at the same time, it does not matter if you turn them from you or towards you. Turn them one step and as long as you keep tuning them in the same direction. When you turn the cards the threads shift and the thread is secured.

Open hood - 48
Open hood - 49
You can now put in the tread from the other side, pull it snugly and then turn the cards again, turn the cars in the same direction as the first time.
Keep doing this for a while and you will not have a ribbon. Remember to turn the cards in the same direction all the time.

Open hood - 50
It is now time to start the edging, I start in the back somewhere where it will be less visible. Thread the piece of yarn in a needle. Now, in stead of just putting the thread from one side to another, we are also making a stitch in the fabric.

Open hood - 51
Pull it tight to the braid.

Open hood - 52
Turn the cards.

Open hood - 53
Put the thread through.

Open hood - 54
Turn the cards.

Open hood - 55
Put the tread through and take a stitch and pull it tight to the braid.

Open hood - 56
Turn the cards.

Open hood - 57
Put the thread through.

Open hood - 58
Turn the cards.

Open hood - 59
To keep the warp with enough tension you need to keep the warp threads at a good length. I tie the warp thread to my foot or whatever is available, the knobs to hang your purse on the train, the leg of a table.

Open hood - 60
After you woven a while you want to move where your project is attached to your belt. I use a kilt needle and put it in the middle of the braid and then attach it to my belt.

Open hood - 61
Open hood - 62
When you come to a corner you want to just weave a bit of braid to get you round the corner.

Open hood - 63
Open hood - 68
After the corner I usually wait with attaching the kilt needle for about five cm, I use my fingers to hold it for a while to get a bit of braid. I find that this gives me nice corners

Open hood - 64
Open hood - 65
Open hood - 66
Open hood - 67
This is how I do then I want to take a break from the weaving without having it get messed up and tangled.

Open hood - 69
Open hood - 70
Open hood - 71
This is how it looks from the side when turning the cards once.

Open hood - 72
After a while you will notice that your warp threads are getting really twisted from you turning the cards the same way all the time.

Open hood - 73
You need to change direction of the turning of the cards sometimes to get the twist out, this is best to do at either places where it will not be seen or where it looks nice anyway, since the changing of the direction will be visible.

Open hood - 74
Open hood - 75
When I run out of thread, this is how I do. This is seen from the backside. Leave the thread from the stitch hanging, turn your cards and just start with a new tread. We will fasten these later on.

Open hood - 76
When I have woven all around and get to the last stitch I do as in the beginning. I just weave a bit of ordinary braid.

Open hood - 77
I got quite a bit left on the warp, I will save this in my stash, it might get some use if I need to edge something smaller sometime.

Open hood - 78
Then I cut the cards of.

Open hood - 79
Now it is time to fasten loose threads.

Open hood - 80
I tie a double knot as close to the braid as I can.

Open hood - 81
Then I use a needle to thread the end of the thread trough the braid.

Open hood - 82
One end in each direction.

Open hood - 83
Cut the ends of and it is almost invisible!

Open hood - 84
Open hood - 85
At the end of the weaving, I cut of the ends, fold them in and sew it all shut. Raw ends enclosed.

Open hood - 86
Then I take all the basting away and press the seams, the edges and the hood itself. And then you are done!

This is how it looks on, both with veil and wimple, and also with just my Birgitta cap.
Open hood - 87
Open hood - 88
Open hood - 89
Open hood - 90

And as always, here is the pattern, it is made in cm as usual.
Open hood pattern


24 thoughts on “open hood with card / tablet woven edge

  1. Thank you! You have sprinkled in so many cool little tips I hadn’t thought of using before! Now I want to make a cap like this one! I have been wanting to figure out this technique for a while, for edging necklines and sleeve hems for linen undertunics, now I feel like I can do it right. Thank you!
    Hanim Gulenay OL
    , (AnTir)

  2. So great that you show everything step by step, a huge thank-you! There was a step that I had never figured out by myself, and I have never seen it explained – that you cut off the end with the crossing of yarns.
    That was a big help for me. Thanks again!

  3. I must thank you also; as a beginning weaver I had seen the warp boards with the threads ‘crossing’ but they never ever said why to cross them. Thanks to your excellent explanations, I now understand. (thanks also for the tip about using the drawer knobs as a warping board; you just saved me about 80$!)

  4. Wow! Super great with all these pictures. Will you bring it to Battle of Wisby?
    / Maria

  5. Pingback: tax tables
  6. I love your hood. The bit w a hook or curl on top would, in ancient times be indicative of a Phrygian cap/hat.
    I find it amusing to see one bit of fashion last over so many millennia!
    Your hood is quite dashing & looks sweet!

  7. OMG I thought that first action picture was a painting or something! You are an incredible craftswoman that is for sure!

Leave a comment