Norwegian money pouch tutorial

Surfing the net a million years ago, before I started with all the medieval stings I did do a lot of looking at other peoples work, wishing that I would find the courage to staring doing it myself.
Then I found this webpage with all of the fantastical reproductions. He had a photo of a extant medieval pouch from Norway that looked like no other purse I had seen. So when it came to me making my own money pouch a couple of years ago I knew I wanted to make that kind of purse. It says that the pouch is from late 13th to early 14th century but as money pouches does not differ that much and in “purses in pieces” Olaf Goubitz writes that the circular cut pouch is the most common type of coin purse in medieval times and that the use of them continues at any rate into the 20th century.

I have made my purse slightly smaller then the reproduction I was inspired by but as I girl I guess I have smaller hands and I did not want to have a too large pouch anyway.

I start of by cutting the leather out, you need the circular piece and also you need two long thin strips one that is 50 cm long and one that is 65 cm long, I made both mine 1 cm wide but to make it look even more as the extant purse you could cut them thinner. I have used a piece of a old leather jacker, but any soft leather will do fine.

Norwegian money pouch - 1
Norwegian money pouch - 2
In my paper guide I have punched holes, these I use to transfer the markings for the holes on the leather. I use a regular drawing pencil that I wet slightly, it gives just enough marks and is something I had lying around at home. You are cutting the dots of so you can use anything to make your markings with.

Norwegian money pouch - 3
Then I punch all the holes out.

Norwegian money pouch - 4
Take the longer leather strip and make it pointy in one end.

Norwegian money pouch - 5Norwegian money pouch - 6
Start threading it through the holes.

Norwegian money pouch - 7
All the way around

Norwegian money pouch - 8
I round the other end of the strip of and cut a hole in the middle.

Norwegian money pouch - 9
The pointy end goes through.

Norwegian money pouch - 10
Pull your pouch together a bit.

Norwegian money pouch - 11
As much as you want to have it open when it is finished.

Norwegian money pouch - 12
Thread the pointy end on a big blunt needle.

Norwegian money pouch - 13
Now we are going to do the nice wrapping around the purse.

Norwegian money pouch - 14
Continue around the purse and make sure that the strip of leather lies nicely and evenly around the first round of the strip.

Norwegian money pouch - 15
Norwegian money pouch - 16Norwegian money pouch - 17
Norwegian money pouch - 18
I did not my strip long enough, but you can easily make it longer like this, make sure that the joint end up on the “backside”, this will make it invisible.

Norwegian money pouch - 19
Then when you have sewn all around the pouch.

Norwegian money pouch - 20
Take the needle and go down the hole.

Norwegian money pouch - 21
See, it looks like it continues all around.

Norwegian money pouch - 22
Now you have the rest of the strip on the inside.

Norwegian money pouch - 23
Cut it of a bit and split it in half.

Norwegian money pouch - 24
Norwegian money pouch - 25
Thread one end on the needle and go under the inside strip.

Norwegian money pouch - 26
Make a knot and cut of the excess.

Norwegian money pouch - 27
Norwegian money pouch - 28
Then take the other strip of the leather, make one side pointy and thread it through the top holes.

Norwegian money pouch - 29
Go all the way around.

Norwegian money pouch - 30
And knot the ends.

Norwegian money pouch - 31
Norwegian money pouch - 32
Norwegian money pouch - 33
And now the purse if finished!

Norwegian money pouch - 34
The pattern is in cm, as always.

Good luck!


16 thoughts on “Norwegian money pouch tutorial

  1. Thank you for the tutorial!
    As I can’t read the original blog (that you linked to), I have to ask you: are there any more information about the original medieval pouch than you wrote here?

  2. ellinasadventures:
    No sorry, it just says that is located at the Bryggen museum in Bergen Norway. A museum that have a big collection of objects from the excavations of the medieval docklands in Bergen and that they are mostly from the late 13th and early 14th century.

  3. Love medieval bags and clothing. The instructions with the pictures made this so clear. This is one of the most clean and organized step by step tutorial I have come across. I would definitely be making this pouch.

  4. I am so glad for this tutorial, otherwise I would not have attempted it! I made a bunch for little gifts. I used some punches, end grain wood, and a hammer.

Leave a comment