How to wear a veil and a wimple

veil-1

This is a tutorial for when you have long hair, but have that pesky bang that is long enough to braid in, but when braided in and your braids are doubled sticks out in the worst places.
You can of course use this when you have a shorter bangs than I do.

veil-2

Start with brushing your hair out and parting it. The part does not have to be super neat, as you are putting both a linen cap, veil and wimple over it.
But you still want it to be kind of even, so that your braids does not end up with braids that look different.

veil-3

Separate your bangs from your lengths.

veil-4

If you have a lot of hair like me, using all the hair in your braids can make them a bit to fat.
So I divide the lengths, two thirds for the braids and one third that will be put up in the back. You might want to try different ratios out, depending on how much hair you have.
If you have less of a mane you can skip this part and use all your hair in your braid.

veil-5

At this stage I put my bangs up, to make sure that they do not get into the braids.
If you have lots of flyaway hair you can either add some coconut oil in to your hair, or some kind of hair wax. I use a organic hair wax that smells slightly of oranges.
This will give you smoother and pretty looking braids.

veil-6

Now lets start the braiding, I do a simple three strand braid, making sure to pull the braid forward when braiding. If you braid them straight down, they will lay to far back on the side of your head.
You wan them to be placed right in front of your ears, because hearing seems to be unnecessary for a lady.
Secure the ends with a hair tie of your choice, I cheat and use small rubber bands.

veil-7

It is time to hide those bangs away. At the base of the braid, poke your fingers trough and use your finger to hook your bangs as if you were
crocheting.

veil-8

Pull your bangs trough making sure that the bangs are smooth and pretty.

veil-9

Secure the bangs in the back with a hairpin, making it look as if those bangs are smoothly braided into the braid.

veil-10

Rinse and repeat and do the same thing on the other side.
The look of absolute boredom is optional.

veil-11

I have put all the rest of the hair up in the back, first braiding it and then
pinning it up.

veil-12

Double your braid and fasten it using a big U-hairpin.
I have a fancy silver replica of the London findings.

veil-13

I usually put the hairpin in straight, this will make the braid look a bit crooked.
Then bend the braid so that it becomes straight again.

veil-14

Poke the ends of the braid in.

veil-15

At this point you can add whatever kind of headwear you want. as long as you cover the back of the head as you have used modern hairpins.
I will show you how I wear a frilled veil and wimple.
So lets start out with the linen cap.

veil-16

Centre the cap on your head and tighten it with the ties, crossing the ties in the nape of your neck, then pull them up and cross them again at the top of your head, and lay the loop around the back of your head.

veil-17

All secure and tight!

veil-18

I use a rectangular wimple with the measurements of 150*60 cm.
It is of a weight that matches the veil I am wearing and is hemmed at all sides with a small double folded hem.

veil-19

Centre it under your chin, making sure that the braids are on the outside.

veil-20

Pin the wimple with a needle at the back of your head.

veil-21

If you are short on reproduction pins, use a modern pin here, as this pin never will be seen. I some times also pin the wimple shut in the back with one pin, if it is a windy day.

veil-22

You can choose to wear the wimple on the outside of your dress or inside, this is a matter of personal choice. I usually wear it on the inside and secure the neckline with a few pins.
I pin them so that they are not visible from the outside.

veil-23

Now lest bring out the pretty reproduction pins as they will be visible.
I have these silver pins that are 4cm long. It is a length I like. If they are shorter than that I find them to have a tendency to slip out.

veil-24

I have a love for half circle veils, this one is 100cm long and 70cm wide.
Onto the straight edge, my small starched frills are attached.

veil-25

Centre the veil on your head.
Master the “looking in the mirror with pins in your moth“
super serious look.

veil-26

Put a pin at the top of your head, make sure to catch the linen cap.
You want the veil firmly attached to your head.

veil-27

Pin the veil at the sides as well. Now make sure to also catch the wimple.
If it is a windy day you can also put a pin at the back of your head, at the nape of your neck. Veils have a tendency to not behave in the wind and flip over into your eyes.

veil-28

And now you are done! Go forth and be fancy!

veil-29


12 thoughts on “How to wear a veil and a wimple

  1. Hi Rhianna. This specific style with this kind of veil is typical for the late 14th century Germany.

  2. Thanks. I am doing 1380 English so the ruffle wouldn’t work. I do wear my hair very similar to yours though with looped plats, but I braid a ribbon in as the third segment (two hair parts, one ribbon part and then plat together)

  3. WOW THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH ‼️ I love the pins – I’ve been just tying my whimpel and tucking it in never ever even thought about pins ❤️

Leave a comment